Ahhhh! Spiders!

In the spirit of Halloween we did a story time all around spiders.  Normally, I am terrified of spiders but I had a lot of fun with this story time.  I usually have a story time box that I use to introduce the children to the theme for the week but this week I told them the story of “The Dark, Dark Woods.”  In the dark, dark corner of the dark, dark room, that was in the dark, dark house, located in the dark, dark woods, there was a dark, dark, chest.  I warned the kids first that it might be a scary story and I hoped that they didn’t get too scared.  😉  In the dark, dark chest Miss Lori and I like to put some silly things like: a small plunger, a giant baby bottle, a rubber chicken, anything but the scary object.  I pulled out several of these silly things one at a time after I would restart the story, by the end most of the kids were able to recite it with me.  Very last I pulled out Alan, our Folkmanis tarantula.  It was really fun.

Now let’s get to it.

The Books:

    

On Tuesday we read Are You a Spider, I didn’t read The Very Busy Spider because it was not available.  Besides I like adding nonfiction books into our storytime.  It gives us an opportunity to learn cool new things, like that spiders have 8 eyes!  Fun new fact.

Extension Activities:

Flannel Board: Five Little Spiders
by Jean Warren (adapted by Kathryn Roach)  I took what Kathryn had done and changed a few of the animals that made the spider fall.

Song: There’s a Spider on the Floor
I gave the kids black pom poms for spiders and played the song by Raffi one day.  I felt that the Raffi version was a little slow for my liking so after the first time we sang it.  I like singing it more anyway because then the kids can make suggestions for where the spider is next.  

Art Activity: Paper Plate Spiders

20151124_131742

Things to Do at Home:

I thought that this cute watercolor resist spider web was super cute!

Leave a Reply

